• Are UniStrip1 generic blood glucose test strips safe to use with OneTouch Ultra blood glucose meters? Are UniStrip1 generic blood glucose test strips safe to use with OneTouch Ultra blood glucose meters?
  • Is the accuracy of UniStrip1 blood glucose test strips comparable to the original OneTouch Ultra test strips from LifeScan? Is the accuracy of UniStrip1 blood glucose test strips comparable to the original OneTouch Ultra test strips from LifeScan?
  • Starting in 2016, the more stringent ISO 2013 standards will apply for blood glucose test strips; does UniStrip1 comply with these new standards? Starting in 2016, the more stringent ISO 2013 standards will apply for blood glucose test strips; does UniStrip1 comply with these new standards?
  • Which blood glucose meters can use UniStrip1 blood glucose test strips? Which blood glucose meters can use UniStrip1 blood glucose test strips?
  • Will my LifeScan OneTouch Ultra® blood glucose meter require a special calibration in order to be able to use UniStrip1 blood glucose test strips? Will my LifeScan OneTouch Ultra® blood glucose meter require a special calibration in order to be able to use UniStrip1 blood glucose test strips?
  • What are the indications for use of UniStrip1 blood glucose test strips? What are the indications for use of UniStrip1 blood glucose test strips?
  • Which testing sites are possible with UniStrip1 blood glucose test strips? Which testing sites are possible with UniStrip1 blood glucose test strips?
  • Will my insurance cover/reimburse the costs of UniStrip1 blood glucose test strips? Will my insurance cover/reimburse the costs of UniStrip1 blood glucose test strips?
  • Do UniStrip1 blood glucose test strips have a German PZN (Pharmaceutical Central Number/reimbursement code) number? Do UniStrip1 blood glucose test strips have a German PZN (Pharmaceutical Central Number/reimbursement code) number?
  • 01
  • 02
  • 03
  • 04
  • 05
  • 06
  • 07
  • 08
  • 09
Answer: Teststreifen
  • Yes! UniStrip1 blood glucose test strips are the first generic test strips for the LifeScan OneTouch Ultra Family of Blood Glucose Meters (OneTouch Ultra, Ultra2, UltraEasy and UltraSmart), which fulfill the strict regulatory requirements of the U.S. FDA (pharmaceutical and medical device regulatory authority in the United States, similar to the BfArM Federal Institute for Drugs and Medical Devices in Germany) and are approved for use in the European Union (CE marked).

    UniStrip1 blood glucose test strips are manufactured by a company other than the blood glucose meter manufacturer. The OneTouch Ultra Family of Blood Glucose Meters are manufactured and marketed by LifeScan Inc., a Johnson & Johnson Company. UniStrip1 blood glucose test strips are manufactured by OK Biotech Co., Ltd. and marketed by Weatherfield Management GmbH in Germany.

  • An independent study, which was specifically required for regulatory approval by the U.S. FDA, confirmed that the accuracy of UniStrip1 blood glucose test strips is at least equal to the accuracy of the original test strip.

  • UniStrip1 blood glucose test strips already fulfill most of the new ISO 2013 Standards, especially testing accuracy and precision. The DIN EN ISO 15197:2013 certification for full compliance is currently in process with TÜV Süd and completion is expected before December 2015.

  • UniStrip1 blood glucose test strips are approved for use with the following blood glucose meters of the OneTouch® Ultra® Family of Blood Glucose Meters:

    • OneTouch Ultra™
    • OneTouch Ultra2™
    • OneTouch UltraEasy™
    • OneTouch UltraSmart™

    The date of manufacture of the blood glucose meter is irrelevant.

  • Yes, with the first use of UniStrip blood glucose test strips you must enter calibration code 49.

    Proceed as follows:

    1. Insert the UniStrip1 blood glucose test strip into your existing LifeScan OneTouch Ultra®, Ultra2™, or UltraEasy® UltraSmart® meter to turn on the meter.

    2. Check that the code displayed on the meter matches the code on the UniStrip1 test strip vial. If the codes do not match, use the buttons on the meter to adjust the code until these match.

    3. Once the code is set wait until a drop appears in the display. You are now ready to begin testing.

    4. When using a new vial of UniSrip1 blood glucose test strips, perform a control solution test as usual with the UniStrip1 Control Solution.

  • The blood glucose test strips are used for the quantitative measurement of glucose in fresh capillary whole blood obtained from either the fingertip, palm or forearm. UniStrip1™ blood glucose test strips are for single use for an individual patient. They may not be re-used and not be shared with other patients.
    The measurement is performed exclusively outside the body (in vitro diagnostic use). The test strips are intended for use by people with diabetes in their personal environment and for health professionals and serve as an aid for monitoring the effectiveness of diabetes therapy. They are not intended for the diagnosis of or screening of diabetes mellitus or use in neonates.

  • Typically, the blood glucose measurement is performed in fresh capillary whole blood obtained from the fingertip. UniStrip1™ blood glucose test strips allow for blood glucose tests to be performed at alternative test sites [Alternate Site Testing (AST)*] such as on the palm and forearm. Blood glucose testing on alternative test sites (AST) should be performed only during a state of equilibrium, i.e., when the blood glucose level is not subject to rapid change. UniStip1 blood glucose test strips use a very small amount of blood 5 µl and deliver the measurement results within 5 seconds.

    * Palmar AST should not be performed with the OneTouch® Ultra® Meter.

  • YES. Blood glucose test strips do not require a prescription. If your insurance company has reimbursed your LifeScan OneTouch Ultra® blood glucose test strips, then it will also reimburse UniStrip1 blood glucose test strips. UniStrip1 blood glucose test strips can be either obtained with a prescription or purchased out-of-pocket in every pharmacy. The pharmacy can order UniStrip1 blood glucose test strips either via the pharmaceutical wholesaler or directly from the distributor Weatherfield Management GmbH.

  • YES. The German pharmaceutical central number/reimbursement code (PZN) is 11001103.

X

• Sind UniStrip1 Blutzuckerteststreifen sicher zu benutzen? Sind UniStrip1 Blutzuckerteststreifen sicher zu benutzen?
  • Ist die Messgenauigkeit von UniStrip1 Blutzuckerteststreifen vergleichbar mit den Original OneTouch Ultra Teststreifen von LifeScan? Ist die Messgenauigkeit von UniStrip1 Blutzuckerteststreifen vergleichbar mit den Original OneTouch Ultra Teststreifen von LifeScan?
  • Ab Mitte 2016 gilt in Europa die strengere ISO 2013 Norm. Entsprechen die UniStrip1 Blutzuckerteststreifen auch diesem Standard? Ab Mitte 2016 gilt in Europa die strengere ISO 2013 Norm. Entsprechen die UniStrip1 Blutzuckerteststreifen auch diesem Standard?
  • Mit welchen Blutzuckermessgeräten können UniStrip1 Blutzuckerteststreifen eingesetzt werden? Mit welchen Blutzuckermessgeräten können UniStrip1 Blutzuckerteststreifen eingesetzt werden?
  • Wird für mein LifeScan OneTouch Ultra Blutzuckermessgerät eine spezielle Kalibrierung benötigt, um UniStrip1 verwenden zu können? Wird für mein LifeScan OneTouch Ultra Blutzuckermessgerät eine spezielle Kalibrierung benötigt, um UniStrip1 verwenden zu können?
  • Was sind die Indikationen für die Verwendung von UniStrip1 Blutzuckerteststreifen? Was sind die Indikationen für die Verwendung von UniStrip1 Blutzuckerteststreifen?
  • Welche Messstellen sind bei UniStrip1 möglich? Welche Messstellen sind bei UniStrip1 möglich?
  • Erstattet meine Krankenversicherung die Kosten für die UniStrip1 Blutzuckerteststreifen bei vorliegendem Rezept? Erstattet meine Krankenversicherung die Kosten für die UniStrip1 Blutzuckerteststreifen bei vorliegendem Rezept?
  • Haben UniStrip1 Blutzuckerteststreifen eine PZN? Haben UniStrip1 Blutzuckerteststreifen eine PZN?
  • 01
  • 02
  • 03
  • 04
  • 05
  • 06
  • 07
  • 08
  • 09
Antwort: Teststreifen
  • Ja! UniStrip1 Blutzuckerteststreifen sind weltweit die ersten generischen Teststreifen für Blutzuckermessgeräte der LifeScan OneTouch Ultra Produktfamilie, die sowohl in den USA wie auch in Europa zugelassen sind. Sie erfüllen die strengen Zulassungsanforderungen der U.S. FDA (Pharma- und Medizinprodukt Zulassungsbehörde in den U.S.A., vergleichbar mit BfArM Bundesinstitut für Arzneimittel und Medizinprodukte in Deutschland) und sind für die Europäische Union freigegeben (CE markiert).

    UniStrip1 ist ein Generikum, d.h. die UniStrip1 Blutzuckerteststreifen werden von einem anderen Unternehmen hergestellt als das Blutzuckermessgerät. Die Blutzuckermessgeräte der OneTouch Ultra Produktfamilie werden von LifeScan Inc., einer Johnson & Johnson Company, hergestellt und vermarktet. UniStrip1 Blutzuckerteststreifen werden von OK Biotech Co. Ltd. hergestellt und von Weatherfield Management GmbH in Deutschland vermarktet.

  • Eine unabhängige Studie, welche speziell für die Zulassung bei der US amerikanischen Gesundheitsbehörde (FDA) benötigt wurde, hat bestätigt, dass die Messgenauigkeit der UniStrip1 Blutzuckerteststreifen mindestens der Genauigkeit der Originalteststreifen entspricht.

  • UniStrip1 Blutzuckerteststreifen erfüllen schon heute wichtige Kriterien des neuen ISO 2013 Standards, insbesondere die Anforderungen hinsichtlich Messgenauigkeit und Präzision. Die Zertifizierung gemäß DIN EN ISO 15197:2013 ist beim TÜV Süd in Arbeit und ein erfolgreicher Abschluss wird bis Dezember 2015 erwartet.

  • UniStrip1 Blutzuckerteststreifen sind für die Verwendung mit den folgenden Blutzuckermessgeräten der OneTouch Ultra Produktfamilie zugelassen:

    • OneTouch Ultra
    • OneTouch Ultra2
    • OneTouch UltraEasy
    • OneTouch UltraSmart

    Dies gilt unabhängig vom Produktionsdatum des Messgeräts.

  • Ja, bei der erstmaligen Verwendung von UniStrip Blutzuckermessgeräten Kalibrierungscode 49 eingeben.

    Sie gehen wie folgt vor:

    1. Führen Sie den UniStrip1 Blutzuckerteststreifen in Ihr LifeScan OneTouch Ultra, Ultra2, UltraEasy oder UltraSmart Blutzuckermessgerät ein, um dieses einzuschalten.

    2. Prüfen Sie, ob der angezeigte Code mit dem Code auf dem UniStrip1 Teststreifenröhrchen übereinstimmt. Wenn die Codes nicht übereinstimmen, verwenden Sie die Tasten auf dem Messgerät, um den auf dem UniStrip1 Teststreifenröhrchen angegebenen Code einzustellen.

    3. Sobald der Code festgelegt ist, warten Sie, bis ein Tropfen in der Anzeige angezeigt wird. Sie sind nun zum Testen bereit.

    4. Führen Sie einen Kontrolllösungstest wie gewohnt mit der UniStrip1 Kontrolllösung bei der Verwendung eines neuen UniStrip1 Röhrchens durch.

  • Die Teststreifen werden zur quantitativen Messung der Glukose (Blutzucker) in frischem Kapillarvollblut an Fingerbeere, Handfläche und Unterarm verwendet. UniStrip1 Blutzuckerteststreifen sind zur einmaligen Verwendung für einen einzelnen Patienten bestimmt. Sie dürfen nicht wiederverwendet werden und auch nicht gemeinsam mit anderen Patienten verwendet werden. Die Messung wird ausschließlich außerhalb des Körpers durchgeführt (In Vitro diagnostische Anwendung). Die Teststreifen sind vorgesehen für die Nutzung durch Personen mit Diabetes in ihrem persönlichen Umfeld bzw. für medizinisches Fachpersonal und dienen als Hilfestellung zur Überwachung der Effektivität einer Diabetestherapie. Sie sind nicht vorgesehen für die Diagnose von oder das Screening von Diabetes mellitus oder Anwendung bei Neugeborenen.

  • Klassisch erfolgt die Blutzuckermessung in frischem Kapillarvollblut an der Fingerbeere. UniStrip1 Blutzuckerteststreifen erlauben auch die Messung an alternativen Körperstellen wie Handfläche und Unterarm [Alternate Site Testing (AST)]*. Blutzuckermessung an alternativen Körperstellen (AST) sollte nur im Gleichgewichtszustand angewendet werden, d.h. wenn der Blutzuckerwert keiner schnellen Veränderung unterliegt. UniStrip1 Blutzuckerteststreifen verwenden eine sehr geringe Blutmenge (5 µl) und liefern das Messergebnis innerhalb von 5 Sekunden.

    * Ein Handflächen-AST darf nicht mit dem OneTouch Ultra Messgerät durchgeführt werden.

  • Ja. Blutzuckerteststreifen sind nicht verschreibungspflichtig. Wenn Ihre Krankenversicherung bisher Ihre LifeScan OneTouch Ultra Blutzuckerteststreifen erstattet hat, dann werden selbstverständlich auch die UniStrip1 Blutzuckerteststreifen erstattet. UniStrip1 Blutzuckerteststreifen können in jeder Apotheke auf Rezept bezogen oder gekauft werden. Die Apotheke kann UniStrip1 Blutzuckerteststreifen über den Pharmagroßhandel oder direkt beim Distributor Weatherfield Management GmbH bestellen.

  • Ja. Die Pharmazentralnummer (PZN) der UniStrip1 Blutzuckerteststreifen lautet 11001103.

X